Home    Districts    Camps    Training    Resources    Programs    Calendar    Give Now    News    Contact Us

Boy Scout Advancement

2018 Camp Old Indian Leaders Guide

Four steps of Boy Scout advancement
A Boy Scout advances from Tenderfoot to Eagle by doing things with his patrol and his troop, with his leaders, and on his own. It’s easy for him to advance if the following four opportunities are provided for him.
1. THE BOY SCOUT LEARNS - A Scout learns by doing. As he learns, he grows in ability to his part as a member of the patrol and the troop. As he develops knowledge and skill, he is asked to teach others: and in this way he begins to develop leadership.

2. THE BOY SCOUT IS TESTED - A Scout may be tested on rank requirements by his patrol leader, Scoutmaster, assistant Scoutmaster, a troop committee member, or a member of his troop. The Scoutmaster maintains a list of those qualified to give tests and to pass candidates. The Scout’s merit badge counselor teaches and test on the requirements for merit badges.

3. THE BOY SCOUT IS REVIEWED - After a Scout has completed all requirements for a rank, he has a board of review. For Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle Palms, the review is conducted by members of the troop committee. The Eagle Scout board of review is conducted in accordance with local council procedures.

4. THE BOY SCOUT IS RECOGNIZED - When the board of review has certified a boy’s advancement, he derives to receive recognition as soon as possible. This should be done at a ceremony at the next troop meeting. The certificate for his new rank may be presented later at a formal court of honor.

Age Requirements
Boy Scout awards are for young men not yet 18 years old. Merit badge, badges of rank, and Eagle Palms are for registered Boy Scouts, Varsity Scouts, or qualified Venturers. Any registered Boy Scout or Varsity Scout may earn these awards until his 18th birthday. Any Venturer who achieves the First Class rank as a Boy Scout or Varsity Scout in a troop or team may continue working for the Star, Life, and Eagle Scout ranks and Eagle Palms while registered as a Venturer up to his 18th birthday.
Merit Badge Counselors
All merit badges must be instructed and approved by a registered Merit Badge counselor (in addition to their Scoutmaster). A Merit Badge counselor is a non-paying, adult volunteer position at the district level. The adult must be qualified to counsel all badges for which he or she is registered.
How to Register as a Merit Badge Counselor
1. Fill out a BSA Adult Application form (available from your District Executive or the Scout Service Center). The leader position code will be "42," and the application requires the only the approval of the District Executive because MB Counselor is not a unit position.
2. Fill out a Merit Badge Counselor Information form (No. 34405). This allows you to list what badges you want to counsel and how you are qualified. You can also designate a specific Troop with which to work, if desired.
3. Turn these forms in to your District Executive. Your application must be approved by the District or Council Advancement Chairman in order to be accepted as a Merit Badge Counselor. Once accepted, the counselor will be registered in the BSA membership system.
Summer camp staff members are certified as a group (per National Camping Standards) to instruct the Merit Badges for which they are responsible.