Home    Districts    Camps    Training    Resources    Programs    Calendar    Give Now    News    Contact Us

Nominations for the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award and the BSA Council Alumnus of the Year Award

First, every year, the National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) recognizes outstanding Eagle Scouts across America with the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA). This prestigious recognition is for Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in their profession, community and/or avocation.  NESA defines avocation as an activity including, but not limited to, athletics, hobbies, collecting, outdoor adventure, and record-setting activities.

All NOESA recipients must be Eagle Scouts in good standing with the Boy Scouts of America and must either be registered with or have their primary residence within the boundaries of the nominating council.  Each recipient’s actions and accomplishments should elevate the stature of Eagle Scouts in the public eye, and each recipient shall be held to the standards set forth in the Scout Oath, Scout Law, and national BSA standards for membership.

While the selection of NOESA recipients is a local council function, the nominees and reason for granting their recognition is confirmed by the National Eagle Scout Association.  The award may not be granted posthumously.  No length of time is required to have passed since earning the Eagle Scout rank.  Recipients of the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award may not receive the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award.

The Blue Ridge Council’s prior recipients of the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award include :  Tim Hunt, Ed Patton, Robert Rainey, Vic Shelburne, Reverend David Surrett, and Charlie Warlick.

To nominate a deserving Eagle Scout, download the nomination form at http://www.nesa.org/PDF/542-057_WB.pdf, complete sections 1, 2 and 4, provide a separate attachment describing the nominee’s professional, community and/ or avocational achievements, and submit at least one paragraph summarizing why you consider the nominee to be outstanding and/or distinctive.

Second, the Boy Scouts of America Council Alumnus of the Year Award is the Scouting Alumni Association’s highest council recognition.  The award was established to recognize alumni of the Boy Scouts of America who, over a sustained period of time, have used the skills and values they learned through their association with Scouting to make significant and long-lasting contributions to their local communities through their careers, avocations, and Scouting.  A BSA alumnus includes anyone positively and personally impacted by the BSA—former Scouts, family members of Scouts past and present, community leaders, and the millions of Americans who benefit from Scouting in their communities every day.


The Blue Ridge Council’s inaugural recipient of the BSA Council Alumnus of the Year Award was Russell Smart.  To make a nomination, please complete the following form:  http://www.scouting.org/filestore/alumni/pdf/542-963_WB.pdf.


All nominations must be received by Friday, April 7, 2017, and submitted to:






Michael Thompson

Council President

P.O. Box 337                                 

Mauldin, SC 29662-0337